FLYING TIMES

I still remember the first day at school.
Wearing a blue and white uniform , neatly ironed
With a water bottle hanging around the neck,
With the socks that stretched till the knees ,
With the shoes , that was so well polished that I could see my face in the shoe .

It was with so much of enthusiasm that I went to school. With new books neatly wrapped with orange wrappers, that I was so fond of. With a whole new set of pencils and an eraser and a sharpener. It was such a happy experience. I loved the first days of the re opening. You meet your friends after such a long time. You have so many stories to tell. You have so many stories to listen. With no cellphones , still we managed to keep in touch with our best pals. The best part was that we used to write letters. Ah!!! How I miss the letters. I used to be really excited when I used to see the postman and I used to be even more excited when those letters were for me. It means something .

Anyways it was the first day I saw him. The first words of him was ” Hi . I’m Armaan. I’m new to this school. “.
I saw him . He can be someone who would be completely defined as a “good boy”.I mean it. With the neatly oiled and partitioned hair , with wearing the uniform on the very first day and he looked so neat. Like really neat.”

“Hi, I’m Ahana , nice to meet you 🙂 Which school are you from? Why did you change your old school?How do you like this school?”
Oh!!! Yes . I did ask a lot of questions even then .
He smiled, may be he understood the fact that we girls are like this, yes there’s nothing wrong with asking questions , right??
“I’m from Pune. My dad’s job is such that its subject to transfers frequently. As a result of which , we have to change our cities often.”

That was it. After that day , we became the best of friends. We used to talk. Like talk a lot. Yes , we used to talk about anything and everything. I used to tell him about how caring my dad is , he used to tell me how his mom used to love him so much , I used to speak of the amazing food that my mom prepares, he spoke about the amazing toys his dad used to buy him. I spoke to him about my cat, he used to tell me about his dog. We spoke about how irritating some of our classmates were, we spoke about our friends. Basically we spoke about anything and everything. And any time we found ourselves free , we used to talk. When the school ended, it was a sad time, because that meant we would not be able to talk to each other.

Mondays were the days we looked forward all the time. Saturdays were depressing because that meant that we would not be able to talk to each other. Oh yes, we used to be so close. We were the best of friends . All the time.

Years passed away.

It was in 9th grade, that he fell in love with a girl whom he met in his tuition. He used to tell me about her like a lot. He loved the way she used to talk, her long hair , her pink lips, her wheatish skin , her cuteness , her smile. And honestly speaking I used to get tired listening about her. She was such a Bitch. I hated her. Like really. He always gave an exaggerated version of her. She was not all that beautiful.May be she was for him. He loved her after all. But I never really did like her.

Slowly things started changing between us. I found guy and started spending more time with him.

Days passed like anything. Now we rarely spoke to each other. We didn’t even have the time to smile at each other. I neglected the person who used to be my best friend. I neglected somebody who was my world to me.

Things changed. Times changed. I changed. He changed . We changed.

After 12th , he moved out of the city. Even I went to Mumbai , to pursue my further studies.

Even though I had his number I never really did contact him “Why , the hell should I contact him?? He left speaking for apparently no reason.If he wants , let him contact first”

Years passed .
One fine day, I found his profile on facebook. I thought of sending him a friend request, but then a question popped in ” Would he accept my friend request?Does he still remember me? What if he rejects? What if he doesn’t even remember me ? What’s the point?” . With this, I used to refrain myself from contacting him.

It was 27th May 2012, when I receive a call in the middle of the night.

“Hello, who’s this??”

I heard a familiar voice”Hi, This is Arundathi(Arundathi was my school mate), Did you hear about Armaan ??? He passed away last night ?? ”

I couldn’t believe it, my phone slipped from my hands and banged on the floor. No, this can’t be happening. There is surely some mistake. How can it happen. He is so young. Just 23 .I decided to check his facebook timeline. I logged on immediately, but to my shock , all I see is the ” rest in peace ” messages from his friends and loved ones.

I call him up. There’s no response. No feeling could ever explain what I am going through. Have I lost him forever. Will I never get him back. I should have spoken to him. One last chance is all that I need. I decide I should go to his place. Yes, in the middle of the night. But all I know was his place in Bangalore. I didn’t know where to go. I call up Arundathi and ask his address. I got to know , even he’s staying in Mumbai. He came back to India , 6 months ago.

In the middle of the night , all I know is I can’t see anything happening to him. I drive like crazy to his place, and then running and panting I ring his door bell. There’s no response. I bang the door as if I want to break it, and finally someone opens the door.

You can’t imagine my shock when I see the person who opened the door. It was him. I don’t know what happened to me that instant. I burst out in his arms. I hug him like I have never hugged before. I never wanted to let go. Armaan was definitely shocked and surprised by this gesture of mine.

I pull myself back, “I’m so sorry. I got a call saying that you’re no more. I checked your timeline, everyone were like “RIP”. What on earth was that. You killed me almost. I thought I had lost you like forever. I thought I could never see you again .”

He was there , smiling. “so, you came here because you thought I was dead ,why did u ignore me all these years. You know you always meant the world to me. Seeing you smile , made my day. I’ve always been in love with you. But after a point of time , u changed. You started ignoring me. You no longer loved speaking to me or even seeing me. I don’t know what was my mistake.I thought I had lost you. I wanted to go away from you. That was the reason I moved abroad.But I could never forget you. You have always been my first love. I might have been in a couple of relationships, but you never left my mind. What if I had been dead? Would you grieve for me even then? Why did my death matter to you. Do I matter to you?”

I didn’t know what to say, may be I wasn’t all that late. God after all gave me a second chance.This time I never wanted to let go of him.”I love you. I always did, but when you started telling me about your girlfriend, that was when I realised that I’m just a friend to you, whom you will forget after sometime. I thought its high time , that we part our ways.That was the reason I stayed away from you. I still love you ”

Before I knew , what was happening, he just hugged me , so tightly and so endearing .This was the best feelings ever. Being in arms of the man, you’ve always wanted to spend the rest of your life with.

We tend to ignore the people , when they are with us . Don’t assume things. Go , speak your heart out. Its better to regret with the things you’ve done rather than regretting about stuffs you wish you had done. Life rarely gives you second chances. I was very lucky. Not everyone is so lucky

1979559_594108257345433_313022489_n

Leave a Reply

