YOU SHALL ALWAYS BE MY BEST FRIEND

Like every other night, I didn’t want to go to sleep early. Suddenly mom entered my room and ‘Pihu, its late go to sleep.’

I requested her for a story.”Mumma, please one story , just one story.”She knew she couldn’t put me to sleep without a story and she knew that I love hearing her stories.

“Once upon a time , in a distant kingdom there was king and a queen . They had a lovely daughter who was the pride of their eyes…”

“What happened , then ? Mumma, mumma , mumma ?

I woke up seeing myself in my room alone. There was no one around. Tears started flowing from my eyes. The unspeakable tears that perhaps nobody could have understood.It took me a while to realise that this was just a dream , that mom used to tell me when I was a kid. I know I’m a big girl now.But inside this little heart there’s a lot of unspeakable pain , that anybody can seldom understand.

It all started when I was kid years ago. Life was so perfect.I had a perfect life. Loving parents , an irritating yet adorable sibling and a happy family. Until that one day, that changed all our lives forever.

I was 12 when this life changing incident happened. I still remember that day , “Mom, please stop it . You don’t need to tell me what I’m supposed to do.I’m a grown up girl , I can handle myself. I don’t need your permission for anything.” Saying this I walked out of my house. I had a party at a friend’s place.I came back home by 7.30 in the evening. I was filled with guilt for being so rude to mom .

As I came back to my home, I found silence greeting me. Where was mom? She’s home always by this time. Suddenly I see my brother coming out, “Where’s mom?”

I could see tears flowing from his eyes,”She’s met with an accident.She’s at hospital. I’ve come to take you.”

I just hoped that she was alright. The guilt of how I spoke to her this morning was killing me. I so badly wanted to apologize. I knew I wouldn’t be able to forgive myself if something happened to her. But it was too late. When we reached hospital I saw her,she was so traumatized.I never knew she would be in such a position.

“Dad, how did this happen?”

Dad couldn’t control himself ” She met with accident ,while coming back from office.”

I just held her , kissed her tenderly on her cheeks “Mom, we will take care of you. Nothing is going to happen to you. We are going to get you out of this.”I couldn’t control myself “I’m so sorry , mom. I shouldn’t have spoken like that this morning. I’m really sorry.”

Mom knew that was not true , she knew she wouldn’t be able to make it ” I love you, Pihu. You are a big girl now.Take care of yourself.I was longing to see you. Always remember I’m always there for you no matter what.”

That was it. Those were her last words. Did I lose her forever? What was my fault? Why was I being punished. No mom couldn’t leave me.She said she’d always be there for me .”Mom, wake up .You promised. Mom, wake up.” But I knew she wouldn’t wake up. She had slept for ever.

Things changed drastically after that. Dad sent me and bro to the boarding school. He married another woman. My little family was completely broken. You can say that I started hating Dad since that event. How could he do that. He was my Dad.How could he marry someone else?

Times passed quickly. My bro who used to be my best friend started going away from me slowly .He completed his studies at the boarding and went to US for his further education.Dad married someone else and he has a happy family there of which obviously I’m no part. May be that was the reason , he sent us to the Boarding School. He never even tried meeting us even once after that incident.All I know is that he kept sending us money. We were just his expenses not anything else.

Last year , Khush got married. He is happy there. I was invited but I knew there is no place for me in such a world. He is in love with a girl and got married to her. We lost touch for the past 3 years. After 3 whole years he contacted me to invite . Why? You desert your sister and you build a new world for yourself , and then one fine day you realise you have a sister- a forgotten sister.

I didn’t go. Today after 15 years of that incident, I still miss Mom. I miss the way our family bonded. It was just perfect. Now I’m just a lonely person deserted by everyone in this lost world .

May be this is the reason they say” A son is a son till he gets his wife ,  a daughter remains a daughter for the rest of her life.”

The only family that I have now is my brother. I still do miss him. He’s still my best friend. Shall always be

Leave a Reply

